ChatGPT Pro’s Updated Limits And Plan Details, Explained
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: ChatGPT Pro’s Updated Limits And Plan Details, Explained on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the little things that make your day delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased Work and Codex allowances for Pro 100 and Pro 500 subscribers. Pro 200 users on the lower allowance now receive the higher one; Plus usage and several chat limits remain unchanged.

OpenAI canceled a planned cut to ChatGPT Pro 200 usage and increased the Work and Codex allowances on its $100, $200 and $500 monthly Pro plans, according to release notes dated October 29. Prices are unchanged, but the increase applies to specific shared Work and Codex usage limits—not every ChatGPT limit.

OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The company also canceled a reduction to Pro 200 that had been announced in a September 29 email. Its updated Pro help page says Pro 200 subscribers who had the lower allowance now receive twice as much, matching the higher allowance already available to some users. Subscribers who already had that higher allowance keep it.

Work and Codex draw from the same allowance, according to OpenAI’s pricing information. Work supports longer tasks, such as research and document work, while Codex is the company’s coding agent. The larger allowance applies to that shared pool; it does not mean every model, feature or message limit has doubled.

The Pro plans’ prices remain $100, $200 and $500 per month. OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500’s weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged. On Pro 200, the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro limit now matches the higher one. Ultrafast, a faster speed mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, and existing subscribers receive the new allowance automatically, without waiting for a renewal.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; changes tak…
The developmentOpenAI updated ChatGPT Pro and Business Premium usage allowances on October 29, a day before a previously announced Pro 200 reduction was due to take effect.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

Which ChatGPT Limits Actually Increased

The update changes how much Work and Codex use Pro subscribers can draw from their shared allowance, while leaving several other plan terms intact. For people who use those tools for extended research, document tasks or coding, the increased pool may provide more room before reaching a limit. OpenAI cautions that actual usage varies by model, task and speed mode, so twice the allowance does not necessarily translate into twice as many completed tasks.

The reversal also matters to people comparing plans or budgeting for workplace use. Pro 200’s planned reduction will not take effect, while Pro 100 and Pro 500 receive a stated increase. Businesses should distinguish per-seat subscription allowances from separate API budgets; the announcement describes plan usage, not a change to API pricing or capacity.

Products Worth Considering

Therabody JetBoots Prime Wireless Compression Boots – Short (under 29 inseam)

Therabody JetBoots Prime Wireless Compression Boots – Short (under 29 inseam)

Withings BPM Vision Blood Pressure Monitor with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

Withings BPM Vision Blood Pressure Monitor with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

September’s Plan Changes Reversed

The change follows a series of Pro plan adjustments in September. OpenAI paused new sign-ups for Pro 200 on September 10. TechCrunch reported that OpenAI product lead Thibault Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model, saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.”

On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200, introduced Pro 500 and emailed users that included usage allowances were changing while the $200 plan price remained the same. The planned Pro 200 reduction was due to begin October 30. The October 29 release notes reversed that decision before its scheduled start, and also announced increases for the other named Pro tiers.

““We heard your kind feedback.””

— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X

Business Allowance Has No Published Figure

OpenAI says Business Premium usage is increasing, but its release note does not state the size of the increase. Sottiaux described the change as a doubling in a post on X, but the company’s published note does not give a multiplier. The supplied plan details list Business Premium at $100 per user per month with annual billing, or $125 monthly.

OpenAI’s release notes do not describe changes to Business Standard, Go or Free, so readers should not infer that those plans’ allowances changed. The company also has not said that the increased Work and Codex allowance yields a fixed number of additional tasks. Usage depends on the model, task and speed mode, and the announcement does not provide a universal task count.

Subscribers Can Check Their Usage

OpenAI says the updated allowances apply automatically to existing subscribers, with no action or renewal required. Users can check their account’s usage information to see how the change applies to their plan. Anyone considering an upgrade can compare that usage with the limits that remain unchanged, including the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500.

For businesses, the next practical step is to review which seats use Work and Codex and how the new per-seat allowance fits their needs. OpenAI has not provided a numerical Business Premium increase in its release note, so organizations may need to consult their plan information or account support for the applicable amount.

Key Questions

Which ChatGPT Pro limits increased?

Work and Codex allowances doubled on Pro 100 and Pro 500. On Pro 200, users with the lower allowance now receive the higher one. Work and Codex share an allowance.

Did OpenAI change ChatGPT Pro prices?

No. The listed monthly prices remain $100 for Pro 100, $200 for Pro 200 and $500 for Pro 500.

Did every ChatGPT Pro limit double?

No. OpenAI says the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged. The company describes the main increase as applying to Work and Codex usage.

Did Pro 200 subscribers need to wait for renewal?

No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for a renewal.

How much did Business Premium usage increase?

OpenAI’s release note confirms an increase but gives no numerical amount. Sottiaux said in a post on X that it doubled, but that figure is not stated in the release note.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

Understanding China’s Rapid AI Deployment: Four Frontier Open Models

Chinese labs released four major open-weight AI models in eight weeks, transforming the global AI landscape and impacting future deployments.

The Bottleneck Moved: Inside Anthropic’s Expansion of Project Glasswing

Anthropic extends Project Glasswing to over 150 organizations, shifting focus from vulnerability detection to fixing and deploying patches in cybersecurity.

13 Best Guides to AI-Powered Marketing Automation Tools for Smarter Campaigns in 2026

Discover the best guides and books for implementing AI-driven marketing automation, from broad strategies to niche workflows, for smarter campaigns.

What Do AI Developers Sacrifice When Using Four-Bit Quantization?

Exploring the trade-offs of four-bit quantization in AI models, including the loss of reasoning and arithmetic capabilities, and its impact on performance.