🔍 Read the full analysis: Why Electricians Are Central To The AI Data Center Power Shift on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get the little things that make your day delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
Two October developments point to the electrical infrastructure behind AI data center growth: Vantage reserved more than a gigawatt of factory capacity for a solid-state transformer, and NiSource signed a 20-year power deal with Microsoft that includes new generation and a large battery. The shift toward higher-voltage DC systems and on-site storage may change the work required to build and operate data centers, but deployment plans, costs and effects on electricity bills remain uncertain.
AI data center power infrastructure came into focus in October as operator Vantage reserved more than a gigawatt of factory capacity for a solid-state transformer, while utility NiSource signed a 20-year power deal with Microsoft involving about 1,100 megawatts of generation and a 600-megawatt battery. The deals highlight why electricians and power engineers matter to AI expansion: high-density computing requires new electrical equipment and connections, not just more chips.
Vantage’s October 21 reservation is for factory capacity for a solid-state transformer designed to convert grid power directly to 800-volt direct current (DC), according to the source report. A capacity reservation is not the same as confirmation that the equipment has been installed or that a data center is already operating on it. The report does not identify the facility, delivery schedule or the specific electrical contractors involved.
NiSource’s October 16 agreement with Microsoft is a separate development. It is a 20-year power deal that adds about 1,100 megawatts of generation and a 600-megawatt battery, according to the source. The supplied material does not specify the generation technology, project locations, construction timetable or how the costs will be allocated among the companies and utility customers.
The engineering case for DC distribution is tied to rising rack demand. The International Energy Agency says AI server power density rose 11-fold from 2020 to 2025 and is set to quadruple again by 2027. NVIDIA’s reference design proposes converting 13.8-kilovolt grid power to 800-volt DC near a facility’s perimeter, then distributing DC to high-demand racks. NVIDIA says the approach could use 45% less copper than 415-volt AC distribution and improve end-to-end efficiency by up to 5% compared with current 54-volt systems. Those figures are vendor claims, not independent measurements.
Infographic 01 · From grid to rack
AI racks near a megawatt are outgrowing the AC power chain.
Why the industry is moving to 800-volt direct current: fewer conversions, less copper, batteries on the main path. The numbers are vendor figures with different baselines, so they cannot be added up.
Today: many conversions
Typical AC chain from the grid to the rack
- Medium-voltage AC from the grid
- Transformer steps it down to low-voltage AC
- UPS converts to DC for the batteries and back to AC
- Distribution units feed the racks
- Every server power supply converts AC to DC again
Each stage loses energy, and almost all of the loss becomes heat the cooling system must remove.
800 V DC: convert once, outside
NVIDIA reference design, full-scale production planned with Kyber racks in 2027
- 13.8 kV AC from the grid
- Converted once to 800 V DC at the edge of the site, batteries on the same DC bus
- 800 V DC busway to the racks
- Stepped down inside the rack, for 1 MW racks and beyond
Bridge for existing halls: a “sidecar” cabinet next to the rack converts AC to 800 V DC, while the old chain stays in place.
Power lost per MW delivered to the rack
kW, SMA white-paper model vendor model
What NVIDIA says 800 V DC changes
NVIDIA’s engineering claims claim
Sources: NVIDIA technical blog (20 May 2025, updated 31 Jul 2025); SMA America, sponsored content in Utility Dive (26 Oct 2026). Rack density: IEA, Key Questions on Energy and AI (Apr 2026) (AI server power density 11× from 2020 to 2025, a further 4× by 2027).
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
Electrical Work Sets the Pace
AI campus expansion depends on equipment and infrastructure that connect computing halls to the grid. That includes transformers, switchgear, cabling, power conversion systems, batteries and the electrical work to install and maintain them. The development does not establish a particular increase in electrician employment, but it shows why electrical construction and commissioning are part of the industry’s capacity challenge.
The supply chain is already a constraint in some places. The IEA says transformers can take two to three years to arrive and grid connections can take five to ten years in many regions. Those delays can hold up projects even when companies have secured chips, land or financing. A shift to DC could reduce some conversion steps and copper requirements, but it also calls for equipment and expertise suited to the new architecture.
Power infrastructure decisions also matter beyond data center operators. The IEA projects global data center electricity use will rise from 485 terawatt-hours in 2025 to 950 terawatt-hours in 2030. The source reports an average US household electricity price of 18.21 cents per kilowatt-hour this year, compared with 17.30 cents in 2025, and says wholesale prices in the PJM region are up 41%. These figures do not show that data centers caused the price changes; the source says who pays for new generation and wires is being decided contract by contract.
Products Worth Considering

Blueair Blue Pure 511i Max Air Purifier

Oura Ring 4 Smart Ring – Silver – Size 8

Hyperice Hypervolt 3 Percussion Massage Gun with Heated Head and Premium Carry Case
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From AC Rooms to DC Racks
Data centers have traditionally received alternating-current (AC) electricity and converted it several times before servers use it as DC power. Each conversion loses some energy as heat, which cooling systems must remove. Older designs were built around racks drawing tens of kilowatts; the source says the emerging challenge is racks approaching one megawatt.
NVIDIA says delivering one megawatt at 54 volts could require up to 200 kilograms of copper busbar, while power shelves could occupy as many as 64 rack units in its next-generation Kyber design. The company plans full-scale production with Kyber systems in 2027. Separately, a Utility Dive article published October 26 was sponsored content by SMA America. Its model estimates losses of about 80 kilowatts in a traditional AC chain delivering one megawatt, compared with about 20 kilowatts in an 800-volt DC arrangement. Those estimates are a vendor’s modeled comparison, not reported field measurements.
Operators may adopt DC in stages rather than rebuild existing halls. SMA describes a “sidecar” conversion cabinet beside a rack, allowing 800-volt racks to operate in facilities built around AC systems while much of the existing conversion chain remains. Batteries are also drawing attention because AI workloads can create rapid changes in electricity demand. The IEA estimates data centers could have 20 to 25 gigawatts of batteries by 2030, potentially serving the grid if suitable incentives are in place.
“The system is intended to move 85% more power through the same conductor size and use 45% less copper than 415 V AC distribution.”
— NVIDIA, describing its proposed 800-volt DC design
Costs and Rollout Still Unclear
The announced developments do not establish how quickly the equipment and generation will be delivered, or which specific data center projects will use the new systems. Vantage reserved factory capacity; the supplied material does not confirm completed production, installation or performance in operation. NVIDIA’s efficiency, copper and maintenance figures remain company claims, while SMA’s power-loss comparison comes from sponsored vendor material.
It is also unclear how much DC distribution will be adopted outside new facilities, how operators will handle compatibility with existing AC halls, and what the full cost of conversion will be. The NiSource-Microsoft announcement does not provide enough detail to determine how project expenses or electricity-price effects will be distributed. The cited electricity and wholesale price changes do not, by themselves, establish that data center demand caused them.
Watch Deliveries and Grid Agreements
The next indicators will be whether Vantage’s reserved transformer capacity becomes equipment delivered and installed, and whether the NiSource-Microsoft agreement moves into a disclosed construction and operating schedule. NVIDIA’s stated target is full-scale production of its Kyber systems in 2027; that plan will provide a timeline to watch, not proof that the design has been deployed at scale.
For electricians, utilities and data center developers, project-level details will matter: procurement schedules, grid-connection approvals, construction contracts, battery operating plans and independent performance data. Those details could clarify whether DC systems reduce losses and material needs in practice, and how new power infrastructure costs are assigned. Until then, the announcements show the direction of investment, while the pace and local effects remain unsettled.
Key Questions
What happened in the Vantage and NiSource announcements?
Vantage reserved more than a gigawatt of factory capacity for a solid-state transformer intended to convert grid power to 800-volt DC. NiSource signed a 20-year power deal with Microsoft that the source says adds about 1,100 megawatts of generation and a 600-megawatt battery.
Why are AI data centers considering 800-volt DC?
High-power AI racks need substantial electricity, and converting power several times can add losses and heat. NVIDIA says its proposed 800-volt design could reduce copper use and improve efficiency, but those are vendor claims that have not been independently confirmed in the supplied material.
What role do electricians have in the shift?
Electricians and power engineers install, connect and maintain the transformers, switchgear, cabling, conversion equipment and batteries that support data centers. The announcements point to demand for this infrastructure, but they do not quantify jobs or identify particular contractors.
Could these projects raise household electricity bills?
The source reports higher average US household electricity prices in 2026 than in 2025, but it does not establish that data centers caused the increase. The effect of new generation and grid investment on customers depends on project costs, utility arrangements and how expenses are allocated.
When will 800-volt systems be widely used?
NVIDIA says full-scale production with its Kyber systems is planned for 2027. The source does not establish when the Vantage transformer will be delivered or how quickly operators will adopt DC systems across new and existing facilities.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
