What The Grok Cost Debate Could Mean For AI Users And Their Plans
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: What The Grok Cost Debate Could Mean For AI Users And Their Plans on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the little things that make your day delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Elon Musk said the cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue, but disclosed no figures and announced no specific change to its limits. In the same week, OpenAI clarified restrictions on paid subscriptions per device and payment card and said some plans will share a usage allowance across ChatGPT and Codex starting in December. The developments point to more visible usage limits, not confirmed evidence that flat-rate AI plans are ending.

Elon Musk said on November 1 that the cost of serving Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while giving no figures or announcing a specific price or usage change. The comment came in a week when OpenAI tightened subscription-sharing rules and said some paid ChatGPT plans will use a shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December, sharpening questions about what a flat monthly AI subscription actually includes.

Musk replied on X to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset, saying that serving the agent had been “unsustainably high relative to revenue.” The exchange concerned Grok Bot, xAI’s task-oriented agent, rather than Grok chat generally. Musk did not provide cost, revenue or margin figures, and did not say whether the weekly usage pool had changed or whether a reset, price adjustment or new limit was planned.

According to xAI’s pricing information cited by ThorstenMeyerAI.com, Grok Bot is included in the X Premium, Super and Ultra plans, priced at $30, $100 and $200 per month, respectively. Its usage draws from a shared weekly pool that also covers Grok chat and certain other services. xAI’s documentation says usage depends on agent steps and tokens, so a longer or more demanding task can consume more allowance than a simple exchange.

OpenAI’s changes move in more than one direction. Its help page says paid ChatGPT accounts face limits on how many can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased with one card or device; it does not publish a numerical threshold. OpenAI also says Plus, Pro and Business plans will draw from one allowance across ChatGPT and Codex starting in December. The source material says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that meter. Separately, OpenAI increased some Work and Codex allowances on Pro plans and cancelled a planned cut to another tier, according to its release notes.

At a glance
reportWhen: Musk’s statement was posted November 1,…
The developmentMusk’s comment about Grok Bot’s costs coincided with new OpenAI account restrictions and a planned shared allowance for ChatGPT and Codex.
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

How Shared Meters Could Change Plans

For subscribers, a monthly price may not tell the whole story. If agent tasks, coding sessions or access to more capable models draw down an allowance at different rates, two people on the same plan can receive very different amounts of practical use. A shared pool across products also means that using Codex could affect what remains for ChatGPT, depending on the plan’s rules.

That makes the details of a plan—what counts toward its allowance, how the meter is measured and when limits reset—more important when comparing prices. The source material says OpenAI’s published rate card assigns its most capable model a per-output-token allowance cost about 100 times that of its cheapest model. That comparison applies to output tokens on the cited rate card; it does not mean every task costs 100 times more, or establish what any individual subscriber will pay.

For businesses, the developments raise a budgeting issue: a seat price can coexist with usage-based limits, and agent work may consume resources differently from short chat prompts. Companies evaluating plans may need vendors to specify included use, reset periods and overage terms in writing. For individuals, checking current usage and plan rules before buying credits or upgrading is more reliable than assuming “unlimited” covers every model or task.

Products Worth Considering

Oral-B iO Series 9 Limited Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush with 7 Cleaning Modes

Oral-B iO Series 9 Limited Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush with 7 Cleaning Modes

Hyperice Hypervolt Go 3 Portable Percussion Massage Gun with Carry Case

Hyperice Hypervolt Go 3 Portable Percussion Massage Gun with Carry Case

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

The Week’s Plan Changes

The Grok comment followed a user’s report that many people had run out of usage quickly that week. Musk’s answer connected Grok Bot’s service costs with revenue, but it did not confirm the user’s report as a system-wide change or explain what had caused the experience. The source says Grok Bot was introduced as part of an X subscription in October 2026 and operates as an agent that can work on tasks such as research, writing or browsing.

OpenAI’s announcements also need to be read separately. On October 29, the company said it was increasing specified Work and Codex allowances on Pro 100 and Pro 500 plans and cancelling a planned reduction for Pro 200. Its help information on account sharing and its December shared allowance are distinct policy changes. Taken together, they show that providers are adjusting both the amount of use included and how that use is allocated, but do not establish a single industry-wide policy.

The broader cost question is that AI use varies by task and model. A short response and an agent that performs multiple steps are not equivalent workloads. A fixed monthly subscription can still have a fixed price while placing limits on how much high-cost or sustained use is included.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

— Elon Musk, replying to a user on X on November 1, 2026

Limits and Costs Still Unspecified

Musk did not disclose Grok Bot’s costs, revenue or profitability, so the scale of the problem cannot be calculated from his post. He also did not say whether the usage pool was reduced, whether a change had already taken place, or whether users would receive resets or face new prices. Reading his use of the past tense as proof that a change had occurred would go beyond what he stated.

The source material says some outlets reported that Grok’s official account attributed adjusted allocations to costs and referred to a dashboard fault. ThorstenMeyerAI.com says it could not locate that post; the account and the reported explanation therefore remain unverified in the material provided. No exact number of subscriptions allowed per card or device is given in the cited OpenAI help information, and details of how the December shared allowance will work are not included.

It is also unclear whether other AI providers will make similar changes, or whether the cited updates signal a broader shift rather than separate adjustments by xAI and OpenAI. The available information supports scrutiny of usage rules, not a conclusion that fixed-price plans are ending.

Watch December Allowance Details

The next stated milestone is OpenAI’s planned December change, when Plus, Pro and Business users are expected to draw from a shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Subscribers will need the final plan details to understand how usage is counted, which activities are included and how the shared pool resets. OpenAI’s device and payment-card rules also leave practical questions because the help page cited here does not state the thresholds.

For Grok Bot, the source material identifies no announced date for a reset, new limit or price change. Users and businesses should distinguish Musk’s cost statement from any reported allocation adjustment until xAI provides a documented policy or further explanation. For now, the most useful next step is to check each provider’s current plan and usage pages rather than treating a flat monthly fee as a promise of unlimited use.

Key Questions

Did Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?

No specific new limit was announced in the quoted post. Musk said serving Grok Bot was unsustainably costly relative to revenue, but did not state whether the weekly pool had changed or describe a reset or price change.

Does Musk’s statement apply to all Grok chat?

The exchange was specifically about Grok Bot, xAI’s agent. The source does not establish that Musk was referring to Grok chat in general.

What is OpenAI changing in December?

OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business plans will use one allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. The full operating details are not provided in the source material; it says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that meter.

Are AI subscriptions becoming pay-as-you-go?

The changes described do not establish that flat monthly plans are ending. They do show that a flat price can come with shared allowances and limits, and that usage may vary by model or task.

What should subscribers check before upgrading?

Check the current plan page for included models, allowance measurement, reset timing and any shared use across products. For business purchases, ask the provider to specify included usage and any extra charges in writing.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

The Switch: You Never Owned the AI You Depend On

Recent events highlight how AI models depend on access, which can be revoked instantly by governments or companies, exposing vulnerabilities in reliance on APIs.

Transform Your AI Projects With These Thunderbolt Docks In 2026

Explore top Thunderbolt docks in 2026 to enhance AI workflows with high-speed data, multiple displays, and charging capabilities. Find out what to consider.

Your Coding Agent Is an Attack Surface: The Claude Code Security Reckoning

Recent vulnerabilities in Claude Code reveal critical attack surfaces, risking token theft and code execution, with some issues still unpatched.

Why AI’s Verification Challenge Is An Economics Problem

AI can generate work faster than people can verify it. Evidence from mathematics, software and contracts points to a growing review bottleneck.